Theater & Performance Studies Faculty

Core Faculty

The current roster of core teaching faculty features many of the leading scholars, directors, performers, designers, playwrights, dramaturgs, choreographers, critics, technicians, and community-based and multimedia artists in the field. The program also benefits from the participation of Associated Theater Faculty from across campus.

Kate Al-Shamma

Assistant Teaching Professor | Director of Undergraduate Studies – Theatre

Soyica Colbert

Vice President for Interdisciplinary Initiatives and Idol Family Professor
Professor of African American Studies and Performing Arts

Fatima Dyfan

Adjunct Lecturer

Christine Evans


Angelisa Gillyard

Adjunct Lecturer

Derek Goldman

Professor | Director of the Lab
Professor of Theater and Performance Studies Co-Director, Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics

Anita Gonzalez



Associate Director

Sarah C. Marshall

Adjunct Lecturer

Natsu Onoda Power

Professor and Artistic Director of the Davis Performing Arts Center | Davis Center Director

Maya Roth

Della Rosa Term Professor of Theatre

Kimberly Schraf

Adjunct Lecturer

Sivagami Subbaraman

Adjunct Lecturer

Michael T. Williams

Assistant Professor of the Practice
Artistic Advisor to Co-Curricular Theater, Associate Artistic Director of the Davis Performing Arts Center

Associated Theater Faculty

Below is a list of faculty from across campus who teach courses in the Theater & Performance Studies Program. Please click on their names to learn more.

Gianni Cicali

Professor | Director of Graduate Studies

Guy Spielmann

Associate Professor | French Floor Coordinator
Faculty in Residence